Interview with David

Questioner: David, why not use your passion for education to bring about positive changes to the school system? Why have you chosen to walk away from a system that needs people like you now more than ever?

David: I’m no longer focusing my attention on the system. I’m content to let it be. I accept it just as it is.

Q: Problems cannot be solved by ignoring them.

D: As Einstein observed, problems cannot be solved with the same level of thinking that created them. Energy flows where attention goes. It makes no sense to energise an approach to education that in no way matches who I am or how I choose to live. I have shifted my perspective entirely, to the point where I no longer see problems, only opportunities. My attention has shifted to the exploration and creation of alternatives. I’m excited by the unprecedented entrepreneurial opportunity that the education revolution presents; it is an opportunity to create and energise something different.

Q: No one would deny that the school system has its flaws. But that is not a reason to give up on it altogether. It can be changed, reformed, improved. There are too many lives invested in the system for it to be overthrown and abandoned. Why not fix what we already have rather than create something different? Surely, we owe it to the children filling school classrooms up and down the country.

D: I’m not here to fix problems. I am here to be and express the fullness of who I am. I’m a creator, an innovator, an entrepreneur. I’m role modelling a different approach to life and education. And I’m excited about sharing this approach with young people. I believe this is their revolution. I’m passionate about empowering them to forge new educational paths outside the entrenched system. This is my calling. This is my choice. This is my contribution to humanity. This is my gift to future generations of children.

innovation-illustration

5 Comments

  1. Eva Gandrudbakken said,

    March 22, 2015 at 6:08 am

    Lovely read to me 🙂

  2. Wendy Negron Oak Park, IL said,

    March 22, 2015 at 11:41 am

    Wow. Your attitude is spot on. You are so in tune with your core being. I am beyond impressed. Thank you for sharing, modeling and proudly existing for those of us yearning to stand in our own roots and behold what grows.

    • David said,

      March 22, 2015 at 6:21 pm

      Hi Wendy, thanks for stopping by! Your comment is much appreciated.

  3. March 22, 2015 at 8:41 pm

    Reblogged this on Aletheia Educatie.


Leave a Reply

